Benefits of OHAS for Suppliers

By choosing to join OHAS and becoming a Certified Supplier you will:

  • Manage and continuously improve your business processes

  • Manage your resources sustainably and reduce your impact on the environment
  • Ensure you remain legally compliant
  • Ensure you meet customer and supplier requirements
  • Demonstrate full traceability for all products and improve plant health
  • Have a framework to manage your staff and develop skills within your business
  • Become members of a recognised industry body
  • Become an internationally certified, if required
  • Grow and develop a successful business

OHAS Standards – Grower, Packhouse & Growing Media

The Standards are written and managed by the Team and Committee at the HTA. This means they are written by and for the horticulture industry.

Grower Standard:

The Grower Standard is aimed at both established and developing nurseries. The Standards include the following sections:

  1. Senior Management Commitment
  2. Quality Management System
  3. Cultivation
  4. Product Development
  5. Site Standards
  6. Physical Product Contamination Control
  7. Transport
  8. Trading Conditions
  9. Staff Training & Employment Requirements
  10. Health & Safety
  11. Sustainability

The Grower Standard is benchmarked against the GLOBALG.A.P Integrated Farm Assurance (IFA) and is audited by our UKAS accredited certification body NSF. 

In addition to the above sections, Members can also choose to be audited against an additional Annex at the same time as their OHAS audit which will give full equivalence to GLOBALG.A.P. An increasing number of retailers and buyers are seeking this level of certification.

Members who are developing and growing their businesses and do not require would prefer to use the OHAS Standards as a business development tool only, may choose to be audited on a Continual Development basis through our audit partner, ADAS.

Packhouse Standard:

The Packhouse Standard meets the needs of the packhouse industry. It is internationally recognised and is the only accredited standard available for packhouses. The Standards include the following sections:

  1. Senior Management Commitment
  2. Quality Management System
  3. Product Development
  4. Site Standards
  5. Physical Product Contamination Control
  6. Transport
  7. Trading Conditions
  8. Staff Training & Employment Requirements
  9. Health & Safety
  10. Sustainability

The Packhouse Standard is audited by our UKAS accredited certification body NSF. 

Growing Media Standard:

The Growing Media Producers Standard is good manufacturing practice that has been written specifically for the growing media manufacturer industry. It is divided into three sections:  

  1. Process and Product Control
  2. Customer Considerations
  3. Strategic Issues

The Growing Media Standard is audited by our accredited certification body NSF

This standard has been reviewed and re-written during 2020 to meet the ever-changing needs of the industry. A new set of standards will be launched and published shortly.

Click here to read more about how OHAS Standards are accredited

If you would like to know more about the Scheme and information on becoming a member, please email [email protected]. If you are requesting a copy of the standards, please state which ones you would like (currently only Grower and Packhouse are available) and the reason you are interested in the standards.