Book now for Horticulture, The Conference on 25 September at the ICC Birmingham

Book Now

Winners announced for 2023 Grower of the Year Awards

6 October 2023


The Horticultural Trades Association (HTA) is delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 Grower of the Year Awards.  

The Awards, now in their second year, were announced at the HTA’s annual conference, Horticulture, The Conference, which took place at the International Convention Centre in Birmingham on Thursday 5 October.  

A total of 9 awards were presented across 5 categories, including overall winners and highly commended. Allensmore Nurseries was named Best Finished Plants Grower, Greenwood Plants won the Peat Free Grower award, while Majestic Trees won Inspirational Business. Several individual industry professionals were also recognised, with Kyle Ross of Wyevale Nurseries winning Young Grower under 35 and Maria Bengtsson from Majestic Trees winning Best Staff Member.  


Martin Simmons, Horticulture Support Manager at the HTA said,

“We were delighted by the response to this year’s Grower of the Year Awards and the standard of entries was exceptionally high. Our thanks to the judges, Alan Down, Tim Briercliffe, Martin Cowell and Phil Clayton, who found it quite challenging to separate out the winners, with only one or two points in each category setting them apart. 

The Grower of the Year Awards demonstrate the high calibre of UK nurseries who lead the way in quality, levels of service, innovation and peat-free production and it is fantastic to be able to recognise young and upcoming talent that will ensure our world-class industry can thrive in the future” 


The full list of award winners and highly commended entrants is as follows: 


Young Grower under 35  

Winner: Kyle Ross, Wyevale Nurseries   

Highly commended: Mollie Higginson, New Leaf Plants 


Finished Plant Grower  

Winner: Allensmore Nurseries   

Highly Commended: Bransford Webb Plant Company  


Peat Free Grower  

Winner: Greenwood Plants   

Highly Commended: Majestic Trees  


 Inspirational Business  

 Winner: Majestic Trees   


Staff Member  

Winner: Maria Bengtsson, Majestic Trees   

Highly commended: Karen Jenkins, Bransford Webb Plant Company   

Grower Of The Year Awards

Kyle Ross

Maria Bengtsson

Majestic Trees



Media Office